Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
The Tufts Daily
Where you read it first | Monday, October 2, 2023

TCU Election Results

Following TCU elections yesterday, the Tufts Elections Commission (ECOM) Public Relations Chair Whitney Miller announced the newly elected officers for the 2016-2017 academic year.

Miller explained that 1,444 students voted yesterday and added that voter turnout was at 24.31 percent, substantially higher than last year’s voter turnout of 8.02 percent. She said that this discrepancy can be attributed to the fact that last year’s only contested election was for International Community Representative, while this year’s election included the International Community Representative position, positions on the Judiciary and seats for the Class of 2019 Senators.

Students were able to vote for candidates via SIS all day on April 12.

The results were as follows: For the Class of 2017, Senators will be Bradley Mullen, Olivia Dehm, Claudia Aliff, Sylvia Ofoma, Shai Slotky Gauri Seth and Ryan Johnson. For the Class of 2018, Senators will be Joseph Harris, Daniel Kamlarz, Rati Srinivasan, Arden Fereshetian, Jack Colelli, Ian Clarke and Benya Kraus. For the Class of 2019, Senators will be Charlie Zhen, Emily Sim, Adam Rapfogel, Nesi Altaras, Malachy Donovan, Chris Leaverton and Amir Soleimanpour.

Serving in the Community Representative positions will be Celeste Teng representing the international community, Parker Breza representing the LGBTQ community, Walae Hayek representing the women’s community, Amina Mohamed representing the Africana community and Jacqueline Chen representing the Asian American community. The Latino Community Representative position remains vacant. 

Serving on the Judiciary will be Michael Kalmans, Isabella Kahhale, Alexandria Hayman, Emily Tannenbaum, Anna Weissman, Meghan Kenneally and Parth Yatin Patel.

Serving on the Committee on Student Life will be Alexander Spring, Reed Collins, Tafari Duncan and Erin Quinnan. One vacant seat remains available on this committee.