Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
The Tufts Daily
Where you read it first | Monday, June 17, 2024

BREAKING: ECOM announces TCU election results

The Tufts Community Union Elections Commission held a Tufts Community Union-wide election on Tuesday and Wednesday, filling vacant seats in the Committee on Student Life, TCU Judiciary and TCU Senate. 

Sophomore Erika Effenberger was elected to the Committee on Student Life.

Sophomore Caroline Vandis and first-year Ethan VanGosen were both elected to the TCU Judiciary.

First-years Ayomide Oloyede and Krystal Mutebi and sophomores Kritika Jalan and Odalis Vargas were elected to the TCU Senate to serve as the FIRST Community Senator, Women's Community Senator, International Community Senator and Latinx Community Senator, respectively.

Victor Arsenescu was elected as a Class of 2022 Senator and Enrique Rodriguez was elected as a Class of 2023 Senator. 

Tolulope Adewumi, João Ribeiro, Niki Patel, Eva Sheedy, Aniyah Perry, Natalie Rossinow, Anthony Yu, Anika Pearl and Nessren Ourdyl were elected as Class of 2025 Senators.

Results for the Class of 2025 senatorial election were delayed 24 hours due to an error caused by the Qualtrics software used for voting. According to ECOM Chair Mark Lannigan, some members of the Class of 2025 mistakenly received Class of 2024 ballots from Qualtrics, despite ECOM's voter data being correct.

To correct for this error, ECOM decided to give those Class of 2025 voters who had not been able to vote in the Class of 2025 Senatorial election an additional 24 hours to cast their ballot, causing the delay in results.

According to ECOM, 1,651 votes were cast for a turnout of 25%,down from 34% in April's presidential election.